Juries and Awards

In this second edition of the festival we welcome three juries: one composed of professionals in the field who will award two prizes: Best Feature Film (1.250€) and Best Short Film(750€); another jury has in its panel young students from three schools from Porto, who will award the School Award for Best Film (500€). An Audience Jury will give the DoctorGummy Audience Award  (500€).


Best Feature Film and Best Short Film Award Jury

Joana Estrela


Illustrator born in Penafiel in 1990.  She studied Communication Design at the Faculty of Fine Arts of Porto (2012). Passed through Budapest and Vilnius and returned to Porto where she works in illustration and comic strip.

In 2014, Plana published her first book, Propaganda. In 2016, Planeta Tangerina publishes Mana, the winning work of the 1st Serpa International Prize for Illustrated Album.


Manuela Lima


Member of the Organizing Committee of CINANIMA – International Animation Film Festival from 1988 to 2004, was also responsible for the Press, Public Relations and Publications Office of CINANIMA – International Animation Film Festival, during the same period. Manuela Lima was one of the representatives of this event in international events.

She organized, coordinated and programmed the GUIMANIMA Animation Cinema Program, for the European Capital of Culture – Guimarães and in 2014 was the coordinator and programmer of Guimanima – Cinema Animation Program (Portuguese Cinema Sessions, Workshop, Debate ) in Brazil, at the Cineport Festival.

She has programmed several sessions of animation short films and works as Public Relations at the Vimaranense Cultural Association Olho de Vidro.


Paulo D’Alva


Has a degree in Plastic Arts from ESAP – Escola Superior Artística do Porto, and holds a master’s degree in Visual Arts Education from the University of Aveiro.

He began his career in animation cinema, in 1995, working as an animator and co-director in several short films, notably the series Alfredo. In 1997 he made his first short film, entitled The Night Smelled Badly, participating in more than a hundred national and international festivals and winning a total of 11 prizes, among them the Grand Prize and the First GOLD prize of the Film Festival 10 International Juvenale Klagenfurt Austria 99. In 2013 he made his second film entitled Carrotrope and, in 2016, the film End of the Line, produced at Bando à Parte studios, where he collaborated as a director and animator on several projects. At the present moment he is producing his new film Esquizoframe in his recent production company, Amarela Mecânica.


School Prize for Best Film

Ana Filipa Galvão Pinho

Colégio Luso Francês

Cadilé Mendes Lopes

Colégio dos Salesianos do Porto

Inês Joana Silvestre

Colégio Júlio Dinis

Margarida Miguel Campos Maia Gaspar

Colégio Luso Francês

Tatiana de Faria e Morais

Colégio Luso Francês